Partners and Steering Committee

The nature and scale of the Isle of Wight National Landscape designation warrants representatives from many local, regional and national organisations and individuals working together with the common overall aim of conserving and enhancing the area. This common aim is best delivered through partnership. The Isle of Wight AONB Partnership was formed in April 2002, and is funded by DEFRA.

The Partnership is comprised of three distinct groups:

Steering committee

The role of the Steering Committee is to act as a catalyst and facilitator in implementing Isle of Wight National Landscape policies. The Committee also manages and allocates resources and steers, develops and supports initiatives to help enhance and conserve the Isle of Wight National Landscape.

Advisory group

The Isle of Wight National Landscape Advisory Group membership represents the wider interest of stakeholders within the Isle of Wight NL, and provides a way for partners to become involved in the future vision and management of this valued asset.

Open forum group

The Open Forum Group includes organisations and individuals with an interest in the management of our National Landscape.

Steering committee members

Mike Greenslade – Chair

Will Myles – Tourism

Cllr Nick Stuart – Community & Parish

Sam Biles – Farming &Landowning & Vice-Chair

David Howarth – Recreation

Vicky Basford – Historic Environment

Peter Johnstone – Nature Conservation

Graham Biss – Rural Business

Jacqui Cusack – Cultural Associations  

Vacant – Coastal & Earth Sciences

Cllr Paul Fuller – IW Council

Graham Horton – Natural England

Cllr Lora Peacey-Wilcox – IW Council

Russell Chick – IW Council

Advisory Group

Amey Waste
Council for the Protection of Rural England
IW Chamber of Commerce
Community Action IW
Country, Land and Business Association
Department of Environment and Rural Affairs
Dinosaur Isle
Eastern Yar Farmers Group
English Heritage
IW Coppice Group
Environment Agency
Footprint Trust
Forestry Commission
Hampshire and IW Wildlife Trust
Historic England
Island Roads
IW Biodiversity Partnership
IW Gardens Trust
Isle of Wight Natural History and Archaeological Society
Local Access Forum
Marine Management Organisation
National Landscapes Association
National Trust
Natural England
Natural Enterprise
New Carnival Company
Peoples Trust for Endangered Species
Ramblers Association
Red Funnel
South East Reserve Forces and Cadets Association
Scottish and Southern Electricity
Southern Vectis
Southern Water
Vectis Astronomy
Visit IW
Yarmouth Harbour Commissioners

Isle of Wight Council

County Councillors
Estuaries Officer
Highways Contract Supervisors
Island Heritage Services
Planning – Arboriculture
Planning – Building Control
Planning – Coastal
Planning – Conservation and
Planning – Development Control
Planning – Ecology
Planning – Enforcement
Planning – Policy
Rights of Way
Town and Parish Councillors

Open Forum Group

Open Forum Group
Arc Consulting
Bembridge Heritage Society
Brading Roman Villa
Brading Green Group (Brading Town
British Horse Society
Clifford J Matthews
Discovery Centre- Fort Victoria
Garlic Farm
Green Gym
Historical Association IW Branch
Island History Forum
IW Bridleways Group
IW Country Federation of Womens’ Institutes
IW Estuaries Project
IW Farmers Market
IW Grain Storage
IW Metal Detecting Club
IW Self Catering Association
IW Society
Julia Margaret Cameron Trust
Landscape Therapy
Newtown Residents Association
Office for IW MP
Past Wight
Quay Arts
Royal Society for the Protection of Birds
Solent Forum
Undercliff Society
Vectis Housing
Vectis Searchers
Wight Fibre Limited
Wight Nature Fund
Wight Squirrel Project
Woodland Forum
Woodland Trust
Yarmouth Society